In Good Company


When the classical composer Paul Dukas wrote, “In every beautiful work, it is the man the work expresses that counts first and foremost,” he could not have known he was describing the art of George Cables. One of the world’s greatest jazz pianists — one who helped define the sound of the instrument as we know it today — Cables has been making unostentatious music at the keyboard for decades. In Good Company, though focusing on people Cables knew in the past is not a tribute album, but rather a series of personal reminiscences from the keyboard. It looks back in time for its inspiration, but not in its musical vocabulary for George Cables’ playing remains as fresh and as surprising as the front page of tomorrow’s newspaper. On display in every track are those wonderful turns of phrases, interesting voicings and that gorgeous tone which characterizes Cables’ playing. With musical compadres Essiet Essiet and Victor Lewis, Cables explores the music of Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn, John Hicks and offers a couple of his own intensely interesting compositions.


George Cables, piano
Essiet Essiet, bass
Victor Lewis, drums


1. After the Morning
2. Mr. Anonymouse
3. Naima’s Love Song
4. It Don’t Mean a Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)
5. Lotus Blossom
6. Love You Madly
7. EVC
8. Lush Life
9. Voyage
10. Day Dream